POC Zine Project/Race Riot! Tour 2012

by mimi thi nguyen

Image

From L-R: Daniela Capistrano, Mimi Thi Nguyen, Mariam Bastani, Osa Atoe, Anna Vo, and Cristy Road, behind the table that holds the Race Riot Mall. We are at the Urbana Independent Media Center in Urbana, Illinois. Photo by Fiona I.B. Ngo.

Well, I clearly did not update from the road — but Daniela Capistrano, founder of the POC Zine Project, did! Daniela posted tour recaps every day (oftentimes in the van, while doing little shoulder rolls to all the freestyle tune-age); you can find links to all the recaps here from our two-week tour, beginning in Brooklyn and looping through the Midwest and returning once again to B-town, during which we spoke to audiences in university conference rooms, anarchist bookstores, coffeehouses and cafes, independent art galleries and studios, punk houses and DIY venues. It was a truly amazing experience that reconnected me profoundly with love and rage (our tour theme song was Taylor Dayne’s “Tell It To My Heart,” and yes, our nights did explode when we were together!), and especially humbling to interact with people who had encountered my zines in the last fifteen years. And for those who hadn’t, For The Birds Feminist Collective and Distro ran off hundreds of copies of both issues of Race Riot for tour! I also sold new issues of slander (now available with both Race Riots on Stranger Danger Distro) about being an old lady punk in the academy. I miss all the badass ladies from tour, including Daniela and also Osa Atoe (Shotgun Seamstress), Mariam Bastani (Maximumrocknroll), Cristy Road (Spit and Passion most recently), and Anna Vo (Fix My Head) — good thing we are putting together a tour zine, and planning a South/Southwest/West Coast tour for the upcoming year! We will also be doing some fundraising events in Spring 2013; I’ll post about those as they come up.

I’ll draft some of what I hope to publish in the tour zine here; I’ll also be posting the donation statements I composed for the donation of some copies of pre-1996 women of color zines to the Riot Grrrl Collection at the Fales Library at New York University, and to the Zine Library at Barnard College, in collaboration with Daniela and the POC Zine Project. More to come!